Random bits and bobs

I’m not sure if other wargamers have the same thing, but there’s a box in my games room where completed figures go when the won’t fit in their actual army box. It’s normally the last unit in an army, or a unit later added to an existing army, that gets marooned in this box. All sorts of weird stuff can end up in this box and mine is no exception.

Here’s a selection of what’s in mine at the moment.

First up we have a unit of Grave Guard for my Vampire Counts army. These were painted in a hurry about a year ago. They were rushed as I needed a Great Weapon armed unit to meet the deadline for the start of our club Warhammer tournament. As it happened I changed my mind at the last moment and ran my Grave Guard without Great Weapons.

Grave Guard with Great Weapons

Grave Guard with Great Weapons

Their banner is freehand (and looks it), based on the standard thought to be used by Vlad the Impaler. I may redo this at a later stage, but don’t hold your breath.

Grave Guard with Great Weapons

Grave Guard with Great Weapons

Sat next to the Grave Guard we have a unit of 10 Rangers. These were painted late last year to expand my existing Dwarf army. Sadly there’s no room for them in their army box, so they are suffering the ignominy of sharing a box with Grave Guard.

Dwarf Rangers

Dwarf Rangers

If the shame weren’t bad enough for the Rangers imagine the embarrassment for Thorek and his Anvil of Doom. The Master of Dwarven cheese does not seem happy slumming it with the Undead. This piece isn’t actually finished as I’ve lost one of the shields the Anvil Guards should be holding.

Thorek and the Anvil of Doom

Thorek and the Anvil of Doom

Also in the box are these 21 Ironbreakers. I picked these up very cheaply last year on a Bring & Buy. They were undercoated black and had been given an all over Boltgun Metal drybrush – they looked awful. Their previous owner had simply drybrushed everything the same metal colour, including their beards. It didn’t take much effort to turn them into something fit for the table though.

Ironbreakers

Ironbreakers

Next up we have two test models for my Dark Elf Harpy colour scheme. I finally opted for the one on the left for the army. Not sure why that one isn’t in with the army, but I suspect she hasn’t been varnished. The one on the right is destined to be hung from a tree for a terrain piece I’m planning.

Harpies

Harpies

There were also some unfinished figures in the box, including some more Dwarves (Warriors) and a French unit from the War of Spanish Succession. I won’t catalogue those just yet, as I can’t decide if I should move them to the painting table and finish them off, or hide them in another box towards the bottom of the pile.

I’ll confess, I’m leaning towards the latter . . .

In the meantime though, that’s another 51 painted figures, plus whatever I count Thorek and the Anvil as, to be added to the score.

Leave a comment