Mordor Orcs – stage 5

I’ve completed the wash stage of the 52 Mordor Orcs. It took about 50 minutes to give them a liberal coating of GW Badab Black wash.

Mordor Orcs - stage 5

Mordor Orcs - stage 5

I’ll give it another day or so and then go back and wash any bits I’ve missed. I’ll then add a Devlan Mud wash to some of the metals, highlight the flesh, and pick out the teeth with Bleached Bone.

Mordor Orcs - stage 5 (2)

Mordor Orcs - stage 5 (2)

I’ve found that the GW washes really do help the speed painting process. I’d have used various Windsor & Newton Ink / Water mixes for most of this washing in the past, but the GW stuff goes on quicker, pools less and dries to a lovely matt finish. I can’t really fault them.

Leave a Reply

