Skaven – The Island of Blood

Island of Blood

Island of Blood

There’s no doubt in my mind that the GW 8th Edition Warhammer boxset contains some of their best plastic miniatures ever. I’ve no interest in painting the High Elves at the moment, but the Skaven were screaming out to be painted.

For plastic models they were exceedingly easy to assemble and needed very little cleaning up unlike some I could mention. In comparison I’ve put together quite a lot of Skaven recently, including 40 Gutter Runners and 20 Plague Monks and the Island of Blood figures simply look nicer, and were much easier to assemble. I’d be very happy to get another set tomorrow and start replacing my existing Clanrats with these models. Hopefully for my pledge I’ll resist, but I’m on the look out for somebody who wants to swap my Elves for their Skaven.

There are 40 normal rats in the boxed set. Which I suspect you could split up to paint the least armoured ones as slaves. Mine have all been given the same simple paint job using a very limited palette. I’ve photographed them here as two units of 20, although it’s unlikely they will ever be fielded that way.

Clanrats

Clanrats

Clanrats - close up

Clanrats - close up

Clanrats - close up

Clanrats - close up

Clanrats

Clanrats

And the second 20 . . .

Clanrats

Clanrats

Clanrats - close up

Clanrats - close up


Clanrats - close up

Clanrats - close up


Clanrats

Clanrats

Clanrats

Clanrats

The rest of the Island of Blood Skaven will follow in a another post later this week, but in the meantime that’s another +40 towards the pledge. I’m still doomed to fail, but it is progress.

This make the total for 2010 as follows.

Obtained: 611 [No change]
Painted: 354 [+40]
Sold: 13 [No change]
Net: -244 [+40]

One Response to Skaven – The Island of Blood

  1. […] Skaven. Is there no end to them? Along with the Island of Blood Skaven I’ve recently finished I painted a number of other Skaven that I’ve had laying […]

Leave a Reply

